Bike Referendum Stuttgart. Rolling, just safe!

We push for the following 11 goals and demand the city of Stuttgart to implement them:

  1. Build 15 kilometers of safe bikeways per year along main roads
    The city of Stuttgart is creating new bikeways along roads with car speeds exceeding 30 km/h, separate from pedestrian and car traffic. Annually, the city builds at least 15 km of these. The width of the bikeways will correspond at least to the accepted minimum including the necessary security stripes.
  2. Transform 15 kilometers of side streets per year into attractive cycling roads
    Every year, the city of Stuttgart redesigns at least 15 km of side roads so that they become more attractive for cycling. On these roads, the city minimizes through-going traffic, e.g. through structural measures. Roads frequented by a large number of cyclists will be prioritized.
  3. Create main cycle routes for everyday and commuter traffic
    The city of Stuttgart adds at least 33 km per year of main cycle routes. These are laid out in the 2030 Transport Development Concept. The considered bicycle driving speed is 30 km/h.
  4. Eliminate dangerous areas for pedestrians and cyclists
    The city of Stuttgart immediately identifies and remedies dangerous areas found on and/or affecting bicycle infrastructure. After accidents involving pedestrians or cyclists, the city investigates the extent to which the infrastructure has increased the probability of the accident. Based on the knowledge gained, the city improves the affected infrastructure through construction measures in a timely manner.
  5. Improve safety of at least 31 junctions per year
    The city of Stuttgart redesigns at least 31 junctions per year. Structural measures are made to protect pedestrians and cyclists against turning vehicles. At traffic lights, the city sets up a priority flow for cyclists and pedestrians in such a way that both can cross the full intersection at once and not in intervals. Where possible the city also provides an undisturbed and clear view at junctions and driveways.
  6. Functional maintenance of existing cycling infrastructure
    The city of Stuttgart consistently clears bikeways and other cycling facilities from dirt, snow and obstacles. The main cycle routes are cleared on an equal footing with the main axes of motor vehicle traffic.
  7. Improve bike parking
    Within 3 years of the successful referendum, the city of Stuttgart triples (compared to 2018) the number of bike-parking spaces. New bicycle parking is installed in residential areas, at public transport stops and at cycling destinations. Wherever possible, bicycle parking possibilities offer protection against vandalism and theft.
  8. Promote cycling and cargo biking
    The city of Stuttgart launches campaigns and programs to promote cycling in everyday life. The city ensures that e-cargo-bikes are available for hire in every district of the city.
  9. Inform Stuttgart citizens about pedestrian and bicycle traffic
    The city of Stuttgart informs people about the rights and obligations of all traffic participants in mutual interaction. The main focus here would be on the most vulnerable traffic participants, these being pedestrians and cyclists.
  10. Annual report on bicycle traffic planning
    The city of Stuttgart publishes an annual report on the implementation status of these measures and presents it in a public event. The report monitors past development and makes suggestions on improved conditions for safe cycling.
  11. More resources for planning and implementation
    The city of Stuttgart creates personnel and organizational resources needed for the best possible implementation of the present goals.

    All translations have been made according to the best of our knowledge. Possible errors are excused.

Ziele – Stuttgart – rollen, einfach sicher!

Für die folgenden 11 Ziele treten wir ein und wollen, dass diese die Stadt Stuttgart umsetzt:

1. Sichere Radverkehrsanlagen an 15 Kilometer Straße pro Jahr
Die Stadt Stuttgart schafft an Straßen ihrer Baulast mit Geschwindigkeiten über 30 km/h Radverkehrsanlagen, die vom Fuß- und Kraftfahrzeugverkehr baulich getrennt sind. Dies setzt die Stadt jährlich an mindestens 15 km Straße um. Als Mindestmaße sind die in den für die Radverkehrsanlagen gültigen Regelwerken genannten Regelbreiten zuzüglich der jeweiligen Sicherheitstrennstreifen vorzusehen.
2. 15 Kilometer attraktive Nebenstraßen pro Jahr
Die Stadt Stuttgart gestaltet jährlich mindestens 15 km Straßen im Nebenstraßennetz so um, dass diese für den Radverkehr attraktiver werden. Auf diesen Straßen minimiert die Stadt den Durchgangsverkehr, z.B. durch bauliche Maßnahmen. Straßen mit hohem Radverkehrsanteil werden bevorzugt umgestaltet.
3. Hauptradrouten für den Alltags- und Pendelverkehr anlegen
Die Stadt Stuttgart legt von den im Verkehrsentwicklungskonzept 2030 vorgesehenen Hauptradrouten pro Jahr mindestens 33 km an. Die Entwurfsgeschwindigkeit beträgt 30 km/h.
4. Mängel und Gefahrenstellen im Fuß- und Radwegenetz beseitigen
Die Stadt Stuttgart behebt unverzüglich Mängel und Gefahrenstellen an Radinfrastruktur ihrer Baulast. Bei Unfällen mit Beteiligung von zu Fuß Gehenden oder Radfahrenden untersucht die Stadt, inwiefern die Infrastruktur den Unfall begünstigt hat. Anhand der gewonnenen Erkenntnisse verbessert die Stadt die betroffene Infrastruktur unverzüglich durch bauliche Maßnahmen.
5. Mindestens 31 Kreuzungen oder Einmündungen pro Jahr sicher gestalten
Die Stadt Stuttgart gestaltet mindestens 31 Kreuzungen oder Einmündungen pro Jahr um. Dabei werden zu Fuß Gehende und Radfahrende durch bauliche Maßnahmen vor Abbiegeunfällen besser geschützt. An Lichtsignalanlagen richtet die Stadt einen zeitlichen und räumlichen Vorlauf für Radfahrende ein. Fuß Gehende und Radfahrende können nach möglichst kurzer Wartezeit in einem Zug über eine Kreuzung fahren bzw. gehen. Soweit möglich sorgt die Stadt zusätzlich an Knotenpunkten, Einmündungen und Grundstückseinfahrten für freie Sichtachsen.
6. Radverkehrsinfrastruktur pflegen
Die Stadt Stuttgart befreit die Radverkehrsanlagen konsequent von Verschmutzungen, Schnee und Hindernissen. Die Hauptradrouten werden gleichberechtigt mit den Hauptachsen des Kraftfahrzeugverkehrs geräumt.
7. Radabstellmöglichkeiten verbessern
Die Stadt Stuttgart verdreifacht die Anzahl der Radabstellplätze zum Bezugsjahr 2018 ab Wirksamkeit des Bürgerentscheids innerhalb von 3 Jahren. Neue Radabstellplätze werden sowohl in Wohngebieten, an ÖPNV-Haltestellen und an den Zielorten des Radverkehrs installiert. Soweit möglich, bieten die Abstellanlagen, an denen Fahrräder in der Regel über Nacht stehen, Schutz gegen Vandalismus und Fahrraddiebstahl.
8. Radangebot und Radattraktivität fördern
Die Stadt Stuttgart startet Kampagnen und Programme, um für mehr Fahrradfahren im Alltag zu werben. Die Stadt sorgt dafür, dass in jedem Stadtbezirk entleihbare E-Lastenräder bereitgestellt werden.
9. Stuttgart für den Fuß- und Radverkehr sensibilisieren
Die Bevölkerung wird von der Stadt Stuttgart über die Rechte und Pflichten aller Verkehrsteilnehmerinnen und Verkehrsteilnehmer im gegenseitigen Umgang informiert. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Rücksichtnahme auf schwächere Verkehrsteilnehmerinnen und Verkehrsteilnehmer.
10. Monitoring und Fortschreibung der Radverkehrsplanung
Ein jährlicher Bericht über den Umsetzungsstand der Maßnahmen wird von der Stadt Stuttgart erarbeitet und öffentlich vorgestellt. Das Radverkehrskonzept der Stadt wird weiterentwickelt, sodass eine langfristige und nachhaltige Verbesserung möglich ist.
11. Mehr Effizienz und Effektivität bei Planung und Umsetzung
Die Stadt Stuttgart schafft die organisatorischen und personellen Voraussetzungen dafür, dass die vorliegenden Ziele bestmöglich umgesetzt werden können.